CSA Haul + Weekly Menu Plan


My weekly meal planning has started to revolve around our veggie CSA haul, so here’s this week!

This week our CSA share included: golden beets, patty pan squash, zucchini, kale, little onions, radishes, and a lone banana pepper. We also still have a little kale left over from last week.

Weekly Menu Plan

These are in no particular order. I’ve just started having options ready and making whatever sounds best that night. We have a couple nights where we don’t need to make dinner, so I’ve only planned 5 meals this week.

We need something with leftovers, and this will do the trick. Normally I’d want to make my own cream-of-whatever soup base, but I doubt I’ll manage that this time around.

  • Frittata w/ zucchini, patty pan squash, banana pepper cheese, and whatever else needs to be tossed in.
I needed a new way to use the zucchini and patty pan squash, so a frittata will do. This will be a bit of a use-all-the-rand0m-veggies-in-the-fridge meal too. Frittatas are so versatile!
 
My usual frittata strategy (in case you haven’t seen it before): 1) preheat oven 2)sautee veggies/cook meat as needed 3) dump into pie pan 4) whisk up as many eggs as you need to fill it and dump into pie pan 5) top with cheese 6) bake until no longer jiggly in the middle.
 

 We’ve got mahi mahi and fresh mango (from our fruit share)  in the fridge. Perfect.

I’ll be *gasp* using store-bought pizza dough for this. Truthfully, I’m not happy about it - just because I like the homemade kind so much better, but I want pizza and just haven’t had time to throw together some homemade dough! This is really sad because homemade dough is ridiculously easy to make.
 
Anyway, I’ll be topping ours with things I have in the fridge/on the counter: fresh mozzarella, cherry tomatoes, little onions, mushrooms, and some pepperoni.
 

We have pork chops in the freezer, orzo in the cupboard and kale in the fridge, so this will use those up nicely. We’ll just grill/broil up the pork chops with some seasoning and have some orzo with kale on the side.

So that uses up everything but the beets and radishes. We’ve gotten beets for the last couple weeks, and I’ve just been roasting them and eating them in salads with goat cheese, but I need a break from that. I think I’ll pickle these up and give them to my Mom. She loves pickled beets. The radishes I just prep (cut off the tops and bottoms) and we munch on them.

What are you having for dinner this week? Anything new and interesting?

Monica

Leave a Reply

