Weekly Meal Plan for Feb. 25 – Mar. 3, 2013


Yeah, it’s been too long. I know…but let’s just pretend it hasn’t and get right to it.

Here is this week’s menu plan. I’ve been creating them religiously, but haven’t been posting them – which is silly, really – because it only takes an extra 10 minutes or so. Oh well, anyway.

I just purchased the Kindle version of Yotam Ottolenghi’s vegetarian cookbook Plenty. I’m not going vegetarian but I do love a good veggie dish! So there may be a couple recipes indicated from that cookbook. I won’t try too many yet since they call for spring/summer veggies  – and I would prefer to use fresh, but there are a couple with root veggies and I’ll make an exception for cherry tomatoes. I’ll let you know what I think of it once I’ve tried a few recipes!  I can’t wait to create some of these recipes with the fresh veggies from our CSA share this summer! I’m really tempted to buy his newest cookbook Jerusalem, because I LOVE middle-eastern food, but I’m forcing myself to try some recipes from Plenty first. I may try the Stuffed Eggplant with Lamb and Pine Nuts recipe featured on the Amazon page though. It sounds delicious!

I may have some new followers as my Whole30 post was quoted  by the Whole9 team in a blog post last week (!!!) so – you all will notice that there are some non Whole30 things on the menu (I’m not W30ing right now). The recipes will be modified to be without soy (coconut aminos instead) and corn/seed oils (olive oil and coconut oil instead – we don’t even have canola/vegetable oil in the house anymore), and I’m using more natural sugars (maple syrup, honey & dates) instead of refined sugar. I am including small amounts of dairy (in the form of yogurt and a little cheese) into my diet right now as well – because it’s not causing big problems for me. I will probably skip the rice, personally – but Nate really enjoys grains still, so I’m not going to push my dietary choices on him, though I am trying to include fewer gluten-containing grains in food I make for him.

Without further ado – the menu plan:

Monday:  Mahi-mahi w/ lemon (pan-seared and finished in the oven), Spicy Moroccan Carrot Salad (from Plenty – ours will probably be less spicy than Ottolenghi’s version since Nate’s not really that into spicy food.).

Tuesday: Crock Pot Teriyaki Chicken, Broccoli, and Brown Rice.

Wednesday: Marinated Chicken Thighs, Butternut Squash, Veggie

Thursday: Crock-Pot Five Spice Pork Ribs, Brown Rice, Green Veggie

Friday:  Pan-cooked , thin-cut Pork Chops with Apples, Roasted Parsnips and Sweet Potatoes w/ Caper Vinaigrette (from Plenty), Green Veggie

Saturday or Sunday: Steak, Squash, Garlicky Mushrooms w/ Kale

I’ve got a review of Stitch Fix #2 and this week’s workout plan coming at-you this week!

Happy Monday! :)

Monica

Leave a Reply

