Weekly Menu Plan 3/4-10, 2013


Hey – I’m on the ball this week! Well, I should say I’m on the ball so far today. We’ll see how long it lasts.   It may be mostly because the fact that I had no idea what to feed my family for dinner forced me to make a menu plan, but hey – I’m human.  We don’t need a scheduled dinner on Saturday, so there are only 6 meals planned this week.

I’ll include Dave-dinners too in case anyone is interested. When I was starting out with solids it really helped me out to see what other babies were eating (and it still does) so I’ll put mine out there in case it helps another mama. At 10.5 months Dave is eating most of the things we are right now. He’s always been self-feeding (just his personal preference) so feeding him what we eat has been a smooth transition. We got the go-ahead to introduce anything/everything but honey (dangerous before age one due to botulism) at his well-child appointment this past week, so I’m systematically introducing things I’d held off on.  Eggs were this weekend, strawberries will be next weekend. He did great with eggs which is awesome because we generally eat eggs for weekend breakfasts, and I’m really not happy with what he ends up eating instead- which is bread and fruit.  Not that either of those are bad on their own, but it’s not a complete meal and there’s no protein or healthy fat to speak of.  He does get whole milk yogurt, but dairy products are sugary too, you know? Anyway – scrambled eggs with veggies for breakfast (and some fruit/yogurt too) makes me a happier Mommy. I’m planning to link up to Munchkin Meals from A Healthy Slice of Life this Thursday (FINALLY- I’ve been meaning to for months) so you’ll see more Dave eats then too.

Monday: Shrimp Stir Fry w/ Brown Rice

Frozen stir-fry veggies + frozen shrimp + prepared brown rice + Kikkoman stir-fry sauce. Easy peasy. Dave hasn’t had shrimp quite yet, so he’ll have some plain veggies (will pull them out before I add the shrimp + sauce) some brown rice, and probably a little turkey lunchmeat.

Prep for Tuesday: Chop Veggies and prep marinade for fajitas. Thaw flank steak & chicken breast

Tuesday: Beef Fajitas w/ Guac   

PW posted this recipe this morning and it immediately went on the menu plan. She was apparently in tune with my cravings and the contents of my fridge this weekend – ha! Dave will eat what we eat. Soft-cooked onions/peppers – and I may make sure some of the steak is well done and chop it finely for him. He loves avocado, so he’ll munch on some avocado chunks too. A mini-quesadilla is always a possibility for him as well – I found these mini (a.k.a. Dave-size) tortillas at Target this weekend and they’re perfect for him!. (Yes, that’s alot of food. I’ve come to the conclusion that I should have named him Bottomless Pit. The kid eats like crazy.)

Prep for Wednesday: Butterfly & pound out chicken breasts, prep & assemble gratin

Wednesday:  Mustard Chicken Milanese + Wild Rice Gratin with Kale & Baby Swiss (All from Smitten Kitchen Cookbook)

729967_10100386833450100_2049127404_o

We made this a month-or-so ago and LOVED it. I highly recommend the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook. It’s my current favorite. Dave will eat all of this. He loved the gratin last time I made it – shoveled it into his mouth with both hands.

Prep for Thursday: Take out ground beef.

Thursday: Pepperoni-Mushroom “Meatzza” w/ Salad

This is essentially pizza with a blend of italian sausage and ground beef as the crust…or pizza-flavored meatloaf. However you want to look at it. Anyway – it’s good.  Dave will have some meatzza and maybe a veggie pouch (he’s not quite ready for raw veggies in salad yet.)

Prep for Friday: Thaw chicken thighs, chop veggies.

Friday: Roasted Chicken Thighs with Clementines, Butternut Squash & Red Onion w/ Tahini & Za’atar. (From Jerusalem)

No, I haven’t purchased Jerusalem yet – but thankfully The Sassy Radish has tried these recipes and posted them! We have lots of clementines right now, so I’m excited to try this. Dave will probably have most of this. I’m not sure how spiced things will be, so I’m going to play it by ear. He seems to like spices though!

Sunday:Tomato-Free Tortellini Minestrone w/ Garlic Bread

There’s tortellini in our freezer I need to use. Dave will definitely have some soup (or soup ingredients – broth is a bit tricky).

Happy Monday!

Monica

Leave a Reply

