Quick Recipe Review: Winter Minestrone


In my quest to clean the random remnants out of our cupboards, I made minestrone for the first time last night. For some reason minestrone has never held high esteem in my head. I was never overly excited about it. Why not? I’m not sure. Maybe because the only minestrone I’d ever had was out of a can.

Apparently I was missing out.

Ina Garten’s Minestrone Recipe is hearty, fresh, veggie filled (win) and easy to make. There’s a bit of chopping involved, but that can easily be done the night before if you need a quick-ish dinner.

My changes:
I threw in some couscous and alphabet noodles we had in the cupboard instead of tubetti noodles, and I found that I really didn’t need to sautee the veggies or simmer the soup quite so long. Really, this can be a 30 minute meal if you chop the veggies ahead of time.

Could easily be made paleo too – just skip the beans and pasta. Done.

Yum.

One thought on “Quick Recipe Review: Winter Minestrone

Leave a Reply

