There’s no backing out now!


Well, I did it.  I just registered for my first half-marathon. There’s no backing out now!

I’ll be running (with Jana if I’m speedy enough) the Mankato Marathon Half on October 22, 2011. Yikes!

As it’s been far too long since I ran regularly, I started the Runners World Beginner’s training plan yesterday. It’s a pretty light running plan to start out (essentially a C25K), but I’m confident I’ll be up to speed by October. I could probably just throw on my running shoes and bang out 3 miles if I wanted to, but I don’t think my body would thank me for that.

Balou and I both need to get back in the groove!


Balou and Me after our first training run.

Yesterday was an interesting day to start running again. We had a fairly significant thaw-freeze cycle in the couple of days previous, so there was ice everywhere. Luckily, Balou doesn’t pull on his leash anymore.

Today’s workout is just a 30 min walk, but it’s FREEZING outside, so I think I might do some cross training instead in the form of the 30 Day Shred and some Pilates.

Speaking of races, any Dog owners want to run the Dog Day 5K with me and Balou June 11th? Most races don’t let you bring your pup, and I love to run with my big grey guy. Let me know if you’re interested!

Monica

2 thoughts on “There’s no backing out now!

  1. Jana says:

    yay!!!

    I am so excited for you to run your first half marathon! You have plenty of time to get ready for it and you are going to ROCK IT!

    If I had a doggie I would totally do that 5K with you. Dan and I do want to get a dog someday and I do want it to be a running dog but I don’t think we’re planning on getting one until late summer.

Leave a Reply

