RR: Cooking Light Eggplant Parmesan


With temperatures the way they’ve been (it’s -7 today, ick), I’ve been leaning toward comfort food recipes, as I’m sure you noticed. One of these is Cooking Light’s version of Eggplant Parmesan.

There are about a thousand recipes for “lightened up” Eggplant Parmesan floating around, and I’ve tried quite a few. Mostly they were disappointing. Many try to lighten it up too much and lose flavor, and others don’t get the crispy-coated eggplant right. With this recipe, Cooking Light hit the Jackpot.

This is a complicated recipe, so I won’t be posting all the ingredient amounts. I’d recommend hitting the link above to check it out.

As usual, we made a half-recipe as there are only two of us. I also subbed extra Mozzarella for the fontina (I didn’t feel like buying 3 types of cheese), and I did up the mozzarella content of the dish – cause I like it.

Start by peeling and slicing your eggplant(s) about 1/2 inch thick. (Nathan was kind enough to help although he refused to smile for the camera.)

Then you set up your breading station with the egg wash and Panko. I couldn’t find whole wheat Panko, so we just used regular. I do think they’re right that whole wheat would hold up better, but the regular wasn’t the end of the world.

Dip in egg wash, dip in Panko, place on pan.

Then you bake them up. 30 min at 375 , flipping them at 15 minutes. While they’re baking, make the ricotta filling mixture.

and layer it up in a cooking sprayed baking dish once the eggplant is finished baking. I found the Cooking Light description confusing so here’s the order:

Sauce

Eggplant

Ricotta

Mozzarella & Fontina

Repeat.

Then, bake it up!

Portion, and serve.

Review:

We loved this stuff. Cheesy, tomato-ey and comforting. I think I finally found an eggplant parm recipe Nate actually likes!  Plus it’s fairly healthy and has a reasonable P+ value. We did decide that we’ll shred the mozzarella next time instead of slicing it for better distribution. 🙂

Give it a try!

Monica

Leave a Reply

