Roasted Chicken Thighs and Sweet Tatos


This dish is a dinner staple around our house.  It’s simple, versatile and comforting.

Ingredients: Sweet Potatoes, Onions, Chicken Thighs, Garlic Powder, Sage, Salt and Pepper.

I usually add fresh garlic, mushrooms and tomatoes as well, but we didn’t have any around the house this particular evening.

To be honest, I don’t have exact amounts of any ingredients for this recipe. I just used what I had. My sweet potatoes and onions were borderline, so I used them all. My package of chicken contained 4 thighs so we ended up with 4 servings plus a bunch of extra tatos and onions that I’ll probably use in a breakfast burrito or something (I’ll post that recipe sometime too. :))

This recipe can also be found on my TastyKitchen profile by clicking the badge on the right.

Start by preheating your oven to 400 degrees, peeling and cubing your sweet tatos and chopping your onions.

Throw your tatos in a pot, cover them with water and bring to a boil. The idea here is to par-boil them, so only boil them for a couple minutes. This step is optional, but I like how they bake up quicker and they seem to be sweeter.

While those are par-boiling, rub the chicken thighs with the spices (to taste) and brown them up quick in a couple teaspoons of your favorite oil. I like light olive oil myself. This step is also optional – I just think the browning adds something nice to the dish.

Make sure your pan is nice and hot (a drop of water should sizzle if you sprinkle it in) so you get the nice brown crust. Also, don’t worry about cooking the chicken through. That will happen in the oven. Just sear the outside a bit.

Once everything is ready, layer it in a baking dish of your choice. (Note, I ended up going a bit overboard on the onions this time. I love onions, but I know not everyone does!)

Then pop it in the 400 degree oven until the potatoes are tender and the thighs are cooked through. This took about 30 minutes for me, but it’ll depend on your oven. If you chose not to par-boil the potatoes or sear the thighs it will take longer.

While you’re waiting, play a little indoor fetch with your snow-hating furbaby.

When everything is cooked through pull it out of the oven:

Serve, and enjoy!

Yum! Dinner.

Modify it to your liking, and give it a try!

Monica

Leave a Reply

