Friday Night Recap (Taco Dip RR!), and Saturday Brunch


We had a late night out last night. Our friends E & J decided they wanted to have a pizza and games night, so we headed over to their house after work.   I didn’t have a ton of time after work, so I stopped at the store quick and grabbed some ingredients for Gina’s Skinny Taco Dip and threw it together quick.

I was in such a hurry that I forgot to take pictures of  the process, or the pretty finished result, so you’re stuck  with pictures of a half-eaten taco dip!  Fortunately Gina’s photo is better than mine!

It was a hit! I had a serving with a few carrot sticks and it set me up just fine. We have quite a bit leftover for this week too, so I’ll be enjoying carrot sticks with taco dip again soon!

E & J had a make-your-own pizza bar, which was AWESOME. I managed to make a pretty healthy pizza with kalamata olives, spinach, mushrooms and artichokes. LOVE artichokes. Omnomnomnom.

Balou enjoyed hanging out with his buddy Copper. They got in some much needed bone-chewing time.


And Balou got spoiled and showered with attention, so he was on cloud nine. (Copper didn’t want to look at the camera)

It was a late night, but lots of fun! Nate and I got home at about 3am (it’s an hour drive to E & J’s place), so it was a late midmorning wake-up for us.  Since we didn’t eat until about 11am I went for a large-ish brunch spread, and steel cut oats sounded like just the thing.

Now, you may think that oatmeal is gross and mushy, and instant oatmeal can be! However, steel cut oats are something else entirely. Truly a hot cereal with a nice chewy texture. Give them a chance!

I used Two Peas and Their Pod’s Recipe to just make some basic oats. First you boil the water in a saucepan.

Add the steel cut oats and salt.

And let it cook at medium-low for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. It will look like this:

Then you add in the milk and vanilla. I stuck my other ingredients in the picture too. 🙂

Now, I know what you’re thinking. Sausage? In oatmeal? All I can say is: trust me. It’s fabulous. One of my favorite combos!

I decided to add a smoothie to my brunch for some fruit, dairy and healthy oil servings. 1C Milk, 1C Blueberries, 1C Dark Sweet Cherries and 1 t Olive Oil.

I topped my oatmeal with 2 sliced links of Jones Light Sausage and 1T of maple syrup, and this was my brunch!

Now, this was a rather pointy (higher calorie) brunch, but it should keep me satisfied for most of the day and it knocked out a few GHGs.

I’m making Gina’s Chicken Taco Chili for Dinner tonight, I’ll post about it sometime this week! 🙂

Monica

One thought on “Friday Night Recap (Taco Dip RR!), and Saturday Brunch

Leave a Reply

