Saturday Recap & Recipe Review: Gina’s Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Chili


Ah, Gina’s Chicken Taco Chili. This recipe is my go to when we don’t have much time for dinner.  It seemed like just the thing for this Saturday’s frigid temperatures!

Our Saturday was pretty laid back, which was nice!  After our steel-cut oats for brunch (see previous post) I headed to the gym for a run and Nate did some firewood moving outside. After I’d come home and showered I had a small post-workout meal:

(Toast english muffin, add sauce, add cheese, add toppings, broil until bubbly. EASY!)

Then we watched Superman, cause it was on TV, and then my friend Miss J came over to watch some Buffy and help us demolish the taco dip leftovers. It was a good night, although I unfortunately fell asleep at 10:00 because of the late night on Friday! Darn you E & J! Just kidding, I love you guys.

Anyway, through all the fun the taco chili was simmering away in the crockpot. This recipe couldn’t be easier!  We usually make this for a weeknight dinner, so I put everything in the crockpot dish the night before, store it in the fridge overnight, and pop it into the heating element to cook all day.

Here’s the ingredient lineup (minus a can of diced tomatoes and a packet of taco dip cause I’m awesome…or something)

Dump all ingredients except the chicken into the crock-pot and stir it up.

Then, lay your chicken right on top

And cook on low for 10 hours or high for 6. Take the chicken off the top, shred it with two forks and stir it back in. Then, you’re ready to eat!

Simple and delicious! Plus there are plenty of leftovers for weekday lunches. 🙂

Monica

4 thoughts on “Saturday Recap & Recipe Review: Gina’s Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Chili

  1. Newman's Corner says:

    Oh my goodness that looks yummy!!! I may have to borrow your recipe and try it…Luke isn’t in to mexican food yet..we’re trying. So maybe he’ll try this!

  2. That looks amazing. I made chili last night but made it with hamburger. I never thought of using chicken even though I know I’ve seen this on skinnytaste.com before. I always forget about it. Next time I’ll have to try it with chicken. I would assume its a lot more pt friendly that way. Yum!

Leave a Reply

