RR: PW’s Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes.


I’m picky about pancakes. Really picky. Those super cakey thick ones? EWWWW. Bisquick? No, thank you. The pancakes of my DREAMS are served at the O-town Eagles Club when they host pancake breakfasts. I haven’t had them in years, and I miss them terribly. They’re super thin and, somehow, kinda salty and well…amazing. We’ll just leave it at that. I’m told their recipe involves lemon-lime soda, so I’m going to have to experiment! Besides those pancakes, Ree’s (The Pioneer Woman) recipe for Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes has been the most used recipe in my copy of her cookbook. Can you tell? I can always find the recipe easily because it’s the only place I’ve thoroughly ruined the binding! Now, Ree doesn’t have the recipe posted on her website as it’s in her cookbook (which I thoroughly recommend by-the-way), but luckily she allowed Smitten Kitchen to post it here! Yay! Here’s everything you need (Sour cream, butter, sugar, flour, eggs, vanilla and maple syrup) See the recipe  on SK’s blog for amounts. We made a double recipe here because we like leftover pancakes! Start by lightly beating your eggs in a small dish, and add the vanilla to them. Then dump all your other ingredients in another bowl And mix them together until just combined, then add the eggs and mix. Be careful not to mix too much! It doesn’t need to be completely smooth. Mine looked like this: Then lightly butter or cooking spray your skillet or griddle, and pour on the batter by 1/4 cup. When the bubbles on top make little mini craters that don’t refill with batter after they pop, flip ’em over, While your wonderful husband is griddling the pancakes, take pictures of Miss J giving Balou a tummy rub,

 Then, saute up some sausage, And enjoy! Monica

2 thoughts on “RR: PW’s Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes.

  1. Alanna in MI says:

    Haha, I miss the pancake breakfast pancakes! They were always my favorite too 🙂 Super thin and so tasty! I’ll have to try these.

Leave a Reply

