RR: Mexican Stuffed Peppers (modified from Crepes of Wrath)


Crepes of Wrath’s recipe for Mexican Stuffed Peppers caught my eye as soon as she posted it. I love stuffed peppers, they make great leftovers too, such neat little packages. 🙂

However, since I have to be a bit more careful about my calorie intake, I felt the need to modify the recipe a bit. Here’s how I did it:

Starting with the rice, I used the awesome organic short grain brown rice we got at Costco.


I skipped the oil and sauteing, and just pureed the garlic with the can of tomatoes in the blender and dumped everything into my rice cooker. If you don’t have a rice cooker you can use Crepes of Wrath’s method and skip the sauteing, or use a saucepan on the stove. Whatever works best for you!

Then I chopped up the shallot and garlic for the meat (I used ground turkey)

I sauteed it up in a couple teaspoons of olive oil, and added the meat. Then I mixed all the spices together in a bowl.

Then I added that to the meat in the pan.

When the meat was browned, I set it aside, and prepped the peppers as Crepes of Wrath recommends.

I let everything hang out while the rice finished cooking, and used the time to give Balou a nice tummy rub.

This is what my rice looked like when it was done.

Next, assembly!

This recipe made quite  a bit of rice, so I had lots of leftovers. Last, of course, I baked them up!

Plate, and enjoy!

Monica

3 thoughts on “RR: Mexican Stuffed Peppers (modified from Crepes of Wrath)

Leave a Reply

