RR: Cast Iron Pan Pizza


I’m a Punch Pizza devotee. Oven fired Neapolitan pizza just can’t be beat. So when I saw Crepes of Wrath’s recipe for Cast Iron Pan pizza I was intrigued. Every time we try to make pizza dough it ends up being a major fail, so I was definitely up for trying something new!

I didn’t managed to take photos of most of the process (oops) but it worked out quite well! I made the dough recipe and made the dough in my Kitchenaid the night before, using the dough hook for the first time!

I also made the sauce ahead of time. Now, I’m usually lazy and I just put whatever tomato sauce happens to be in my refrigerator on my pizza, but I think I’m a convert! This sauce was AMAZING.  The anchovy paste was totally worth it. Trust me.

So I rolled out the dough, slathered on some sauce, topped it with pepperoni, mozz and mushrooms and stuck it in my oven on my pizza stone.  Crepes of Wrath recommends a cast-iron pan, and I think I’ll do that next time, but we were starving so I didn’t want to make 2 individual pizzas. It takes too long!

Anyway here it is.

The crust got a bit toasty, but I like it that way. 🙂

Yum, Dinner!

We did decide that the dough got a bit overworked the night before, so I’ll knead it less next time, but otherwise it was great!

❤ Monica

2 thoughts on “RR: Cast Iron Pan Pizza

Leave a Reply

