Burrito Bowls


Sometimes a girl just wants a burrito bowl, but I don’t always want Chipotle. For one, it’s expensive, all their ingredients are high fat and they don’t always have what I want! So, this is how I make burrito bowls.

I started by making the main filling for the bowls, which consists of seasoned roasted sweet potatoes, corn, black beans and onions.

This is:

One onion,chopped

1 can black beans, drained

2 sweet potates, cubed

5oz  frozen sweet corn (or 1/2 of a 10 oz bag)

and 3/4 pkg of Ortega Chipotle Taco Seasoning.  Most of the time I make my own seasoning, but we had the packet sitting around, so I used it.

Once the filling is ready, it’s time to layer the bowl!

Mine was: Filling, some rotisserie chicken, lettuce, avocado, light sour cream, shredded colby jack and salsa.

You could easily skip the chicken to make this vegetarian (and even the sour cream and cheese to make it vegan!)

The best part is that the filling made a TON, so I can throw a bowl together easily for lunch or dinner this week, plus it’s great for all kinds of things from tacos to enchiladas. 🙂

Monica

One thought on “Burrito Bowls

Leave a Reply

