A Few of my Favorite Things: Evol Foods


As a graduate student I tend to be on the run quite a bit.  Sometime I have to pack all of my lunch, dinner and snack in my little cooler and I don’t always have enough leftovers to get me through. Plus, deli turkey on whole wheat gets old VERY fast. For this reason I like to have a stash of frozen food as a backup. It’s also nice to have something I can grab while walking or taking transit. I prefer to sit down and eat but sometimes my schedule dictates otherwise.

Most of the time I try to stay away from the super processed frozen food. Frozen diet meals (Lean Cuisine, Healthy Choice, etc) aren’t bad in a pinch, but they honestly aren’t all that tasty and they don’t fill me up at all so I tend to avoid them

Fortunately,  I’ve recently discovered Evol Foods, and I think I’m in love. Their primary product is a frozen burrito (which is the only thing I’ve been able to get my hands on so far) and every variety I’ve tried is fabulous. I’ve tried the Chicken, Bean and Rice, Basic Bean and Cheese, and Pork and Green Chile. They’re delicious, quick to heat up, super portable, and filling.

They’re not attempting to make “diet” food, just appetizing food that is frozen so there’s no flavorless, waxy, super-processed junk here.  It’s just good solid protein filled food in a neat little package. Perfect for an on-the-go day!

A solid bonus is that they avoid hormones and synthetic additives, and do their best to use green energy and recyclable/compostable packaging.

They’ve now got bowls and premium burritos and wraps as well, and I need to make a trip to Whole Foods to see if they carry them (my local co-op is where I picked up the burritos). They’re not super low calorie or super cheap (real food is never super low calorie or cheap), but worth the calories and cash for a satisfying freezer stash in my opinion.

I’m also entertained because they call themselves “An Evol plot to change the world.” 🙂

Check them out!

Monica

Leave a Reply

