Weekly Meal Plan: 1/9/2011 – 1/15/2011


Here’s the list for this week! As always, things will get shifted around depending on how we feel on a particular night or how much time we have. A couple new recipes thrown in with staple recipes I know we love this week.

Early Prep: Take pot roast, chicken thighs & ground beef out to thaw, make brown rice

Monday: Chicken Pot Pie – freeze extras for later date

I’ve been collecting prep & freeze recipes for when Tot arrives, and I want to try a few out before I make a bunch, so here’s one of them.  It makes 6 personal pies, so I’ll freeze the 4 we won’t be eating and we’ll have them again in a couple weeks to see how they turn out post-freezing. We have plenty of chicken leftover from chicken roasting last week, so this should work out nicely. I just need to figure out what to bake individual pies in. Mr. Nest thinks our Pyrex take-along containers would work, but I’m not sure they’re oven safe…hmmm.

Tuesday:  Chicken Thighs with Red Wine Vinegar & Shallots, Brown Rice, Veggie

I’ve posted about this one before here.  It’s a staple in the food rotation. I’ll skip the white wine even though most of the alcohol would cook off no problem, just because nobody will drink the rest of the bottle if I can’t!

Wednesday: Tacos w/ Chips and Guac/Salsa

This is really just your basic beef taco. Mine will probably end up being a spinach-taco salad, topped with salsa & sour cream plus some tortilla chips and guacamole on the side.  We don’t really buy the taco seasoning packets, I just dump mexican-ish spices (cumin, chili powder, cayenne, onion powder, garlic powder, etc) into the meat mixture until it tastes right to me.

Thursday: Slow Cooker Pot Roast w/ Mashed Potatoes & Veggie

The pot roast I make is based on the linked one. Sometimes I modify the seasoning depending on what we have in the house, but the recipe as-is is really nice. It adds nice, but not overpowering, flavor to the roast and it gets slow-cooked nicely in the crock-pot.  It’s super quick prep the night before, and can handle 8-12 hours in the slow-cooker on low no problem. The mashed potatoes will be basic boiled potatoes mashed with light sour cream, butter, milk, seasoning salt (Lawry’s) and Parmesan to taste.

Friday: Nothing planned. I have plans with a friend this night, and Mr. Nest will probably end up eating some leftover pot roast before I get home.

Saturday: Beef w/ Snow Peas & Brown Rice

I’ve posted about this recipe before also, it’s located here. This is a permanent staple in our dinner rotation. If I can’t find any good snow peas, I’ll just use frozen green beans. Just as good!

Sunday: Slow Cooker Veggie Lasagna

This is recycled from last week because we ended up going out to dinner & a movie on Saturday (LOVED the new Sherlock Holmes) and didn’t need one of our planned dinners. I’ll probably make some garlic bread to go with it.

Other things to make: Homemade 7-Grain Bread

This bread goes along with my 2012 goals! Working on making more staples at home instead of buying them at the store. This recipe makes 2 loaves, so one will get frozen until we finish the first.  It looks amazing, so I’m excited to try the recipe!

Leave a Reply

