Weekly Menu Plan


Hello!

Here’s next week’s menu plan. You’ll notice that just about everything is in the crock-pot. The reason for this is twofold: 1) I don’t have to spend a bunch of time cooking, 2) the recipes looked good. I’ve been pretty rundown lately, which is unsurprising as I’m rolling through the third trimester of my pregnancy right now.  I was all gung-ho to make a King Cake for the Mardi-Gras-ish party some friends are throwing this weekend, but the thought of attempting to focus on an involved recipe makes me want to cry, so they’re getting Momofuku’s Butter Cake Bars instead. Not as awesome, but they’re supposed to be delicious! I hope everyone likes them.

This week is another one where we’ll be relatively light on meals because we have a couple things going on. Busy February!

Early Prep: Take Flank Steak out of freezer, Make Rice

Roasted Salmon w/ Couscous & Veggie

This is me being lazy – plus salmon in moderation has lots of DHA for Tot’s brain development. Also, we have a bunch of random grains just sitting around that need to be consumed, and couscous is one of them.

Slow Cooker Tortellini Soup w/ Garlic Bread

The hubby likes soup, and this one sounds tasty! I’ve been making filled pasta quite a bit lately, haven’t I? That’s slightly odd. Maybe it’s a craving I wasn’t identifying before?

 Slow Cooker Parmesan Honey Pork Roast w/ Mashed Potatoes & Veggie

I don’t make pork very often, so this is changing things up a bit. We always have trouble with pork tenderloins because they’re always a bit too pink for our taste – so this is pork that I don’t have to worry about.

Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef w/ Brown Rice & Green Beans

I love Mongolian beef! Plus I crave steak lately and this is a way to get it fully cooked without feeling like I’m ruining it. As always – Crock-pot FTW.

Baked Gnocchi w/ Pesto, Peas and Pancetta, w/ Salad & Bread

I seem to be craving the chewy texture of gnocchi, and this looks like a delicious departure from our usual.  I am going to buy some basil and make homemade pesto this time because I’ve discovered that once you’ve made your own – Buitoni’s packaged stuff is incredibly disappointing. Store-bought basil is not as good as homegrown, but it’ll be a positive step up from the flavorless packaged crap (and I used to think that’s what pesto was supposed to taste like! How depressing.) I can’t wait until we start our garden for the summer and get a few fresh basil plants growing. I miss them! I think ours got too cold by our drafty window. 😦

It’s almost the weekend (thank goodness!). Have a good one!

Monica

Leave a Reply

