Packing Healthy for Work – July 27th, 2012


I’ve come across some fun blogs lately about packing lunches. My favorite is Happy Little Bento. She focuses on lunches for kids, and I’m hoping I can make Tot’s lunch that cool when he starts bringing lunches to school! I don’t know that I’ll be creative enough to make all the little characters she does, but I love the fresh healthy variety she provides.  Anyway, I should probably start practicing with my own food, and hopefully a daily packing-healthy-for-work post will help me stay on track with healthy eats at work and stay away from those darned vending machines! I’ve been so tired lately that I’ve been pretty terrible and buying lunch since I’ve been so tired. Naturally, I’ll still grab lunch from a food truck or the downstairs deli now and then, but I’ll do my best to post what I do pack and PLAN.

I should probably mention that I’m NOT on a diet. I’m not counting calories right now, just trying to eat healthily (but I’m not going all the way to completely clean eating).  I did go against my original plan and track on MyFitnessPal for a while but, as expected, that was far too restrictive for me while breastfeeding. I am supporting the growth of a small human after all, and the 3-6 month period is supposed to be when breastfeeding burns the most calories. I tend to stick to my calorie goal even if I’m still hungry, which is not a good idea for maintaining milk supply. So now, I’m just eating to hunger. This may look like way too much food to some, and not enough food to others.  Opinions are welcome, but don’t necessarily expect me to follow your advice. I have to do what works for me!

If I supplement at all (which I probably will) I’ll note it on the next day’s post, and I’ll try to post last night’s dinner at the beginning of the post as well. 🙂

Last night ended with some shrimp stir fry with brown rice- it ended up including patty-pan squash, zucchini, green beans, purple bell pepper, onion and shrimp.

And we indulged in blizzards since it was Miracle Treat Day. Mine was Oreo Cheesecake. Yum!

Here’s today’s packed food. There’s a fair amount of fruit since we just got our fruit share last night and I’m excited about all the fun fresh stuff!

The day started with a Caribou run for a small hazelnut latte – just basic 2% and actual sugar syrup. I find I’m  more satisfied with the 2% milk, and I gave up artificial sweeteners when I got pregnant (they’re not supposed to be dangerous, but it was a personal choice) and I’m still trying to stay away from them – if only because I want to avoid having 3-4 diet cokes a day because I don’t feel guilty about it. Not good for me!

Breakfast

  • Hard–steamed egg
  • PB oat breakfast cookie (see menu plan post for link)
  • Champagne Grapes – yes they’re miniature – how cute! They’re really super sweet and delicious too. We got these in our fruit share – the post is coming!

Lunch

  • Leftover chicken tortilla casserole  (see link in last week’s menu plan) over fresh spinach
  • ½ small avocado

The chicken tortilla casserole is just OK. I don’t know that I’d make it again, but we’re still eating up the leftovers!

Snacks

  • Ranier cherries
  • Fage 0% greek yogurt w/ blueberry preserves + fresh blueberries
  • String cheese
  • Orange (not pictured. I have some sitting on my desk at work)

I also have some smokehouse almonds and dried apricots in my desk drawer for as-needed munching.

Do you strive to pack a healthy lunch/snacks  for work? What’s your strategy?

TGIF!
Monica

Leave a Reply

