Fruit Share Haul – July 26, 2012


This week’s haul is a bit lighter on variety, but that’s fine with me! Lots of good stuff here. Most of it will just be eaten out of hand, but I’ll be making a couple things.

Blueberries – Blueberry Heritage Farm, MI.

I’m planning on making either blueberry muffins or blueberry scones with some of these. I’ve also been topping my plain greek yogurt with some homemade blueberry preserves, and I think some fresh blueberries will be a nice addition!

Champagne Grapes – Joe Sogomonian’s Ranch near Fresno, CA

We’ll just munch on these. I might freeze some, too for a frosty treat. 🙂

White Arctic Jay Nectarines – Naylor Ranch, CA

These might get grilled up for a weekend dessert with a scoop of ice cream (just halved, pitted, brushed with a little canola oil and grilled until hot + soft), or eaten plain.

Flavor Gem Pluot – Twin Girls Ranch, CA

I’m still thinking about making a cake with these! We’ll see. 🙂

Ranier Cherries – Holtzinger Farms, WA

As usual. I’m just going to wash these, put them in a bowl, and inhale them.

Lemons – Sespe Creek, WA

Maybe some lemonade (blueberry lemonade perhaps?) or lemon bars? I need to get my Mom’s lemon bar recipe. Hers are always more tart and less sweet than other ones I’ve had. Most are too sweet with not enough lemon flavor!

Hass Avocado – Sespe Farm, CA

I eat these with a spoon. Really. That or I’ll some guacamole or toss some chunks in a salad. Avocado is good in just about anything.

What is your favorite way to use lemons?

Monica

Leave a Reply

