Sparkling Blood Orange Margarita


I picked up some San Pellegrino Aranciata Rossa (Blood Orange) this weekend and, upon tasting it, decided that it would make a great sparkling margarita! I needed to add some lime juice to it to add the tartness I enjoy in a margarita, but otherwise it worked beautifully. I typically enjoy my margaritas on-the-rocks, and I find most margarita mixes disgusting – so I prefer to make my own.

Mine had about half the alcohol in the recipe below to make sure it was out of my milk supply before Tot needed to eat again, but it was still satisfying. 🙂 Add more alcohol if you like!

Recipe:

  • 1 can San Pellegrino Aranciata Rossa
  • 1 shot of your favorite Tequila (I enjoy Patron Silver or Reposado myself, but this time I just had your basic Jose Cuervo available.)
  • 1/2  shot of Cointreau (you could use basic Triple Sec, but I think it’s WAY too sweet. Cointreau all the way!)
  • Sweetened lime juice to taste (Rose’s) I used about 1/2 a shot.
  • Ice

Add the tequila, cointreau, sweetened lime juice and ice to a shaker (or you could use two cups). Shake until blended and chilled. Pour into a glass of your choice over some fresh ice cubes and pour in the Aranciata Rossa. Stir a little, and you’re ready to go!  I didn’t add a salt rim – but you definitely could.

How do you like your margaritas?

Enjoy!

Monica

One thought on “Sparkling Blood Orange Margarita

Leave a Reply

