Recipe Review: Pan-Seared Chicken Thighs with Balsamic-Cherry Sauce


The little guy was running a fever yesterday, so I spent the day chasing him around instead of at work (apparently he was feeling just fine but, of course, I can’t send him into daycare with a fever).  That kid is a great workout: squats, stairs, and abwork. I’m actually sore today. Whew.

888186_10100437809823040_1287922484_o

I made these Pan-Seared Chicken Thighs with Balsamic-Cherry Sauce for dinner last night. It’s not usually something I’d gravitate to. I’m not sure why, maybe because it sounds complicated. The good news is that it really isn’t! I really chose it because I knew I had just about everything I needed to make it sitting in my kitchen.

I did make some modifications: I used boneless-skinless chicken thighs instead of bone-in, honey instead of cherry jam, frozen cherries instead of fresh and skipped the cardamom (only because I didn’t have any) and pistachios (I’m not huge on pistachios). I also chose to bake the thighs in a separate baking dish instead of the pan so I could make the sauce while they were baking. It saved a few minutes – which was nice.

Both Nate and my brother-in-law (who has been kind enough to help us out with our house repairs, and also spent some time making pies for Nate to bring to work for Pi Day today (he’s a pastry chef in-training) – I’m hoping there’s some leftover pie for me!) deemed it quite tasty. It’s like pulling teeth to get Nate to give an actual opinion on a dish – so the fact that he made a point to say he liked it…means he really liked it. I think I’ll make this again. Maybe with fresh cherries from our fruit share this summer! 🙂

Monica

Leave a Reply

